A short time ago, I wrote that someone was stealing my articles again. I’ve decided to go after this one, as s/he doesn’t seem to want to stop. Before I get into this too much, I want to be clear. What I write here is my opinion. It comes from my head. If I am inspired by others, I try to attribute the work to the rightful owner or creator. I try to ensure that what I use from others gets properly cited, so that its clear what it my work and what is not my work. I hope that I achieve this. If I ever screw up and use someone’s content and don’t properly cite it, I will fix that blunder if it comes to my attention (my email address is in the footer of every page here, along with my copyright notice).
If you want to use my writing as inspiration, by all means do. You’ll see that I don’t really have too many rules with what you do with what I write. The only disclaimer that I try to make apparent is that if you use my stuff, I want you to make sure that people know that its mine and not yours. (pull)Think for yourself. Don’t be lazy.(/pull) If your thoughts strangely coincide or collaborate with mine, then, besides feeling sorry for your mental health, I applaud you for letting the world know what’s on your mind.
With that in mind, I want to introduce you to http://1mlmpro.com/.
This site is a real class act! The content on this site is superb! How do I know? That’s easy!
I wrote some of it!
My article is here. Theirs is here. If you’re silly enough to subscribe to my feed, than you know that there are a few unique words at the beginning of every article. Funny how they are in our friend’s post too. Lazy jerk!
Uncanny. I’ve asked nicely to have the content taken down or attributed properly. A week later, I asked with a bit more legality for them to cease and desist (I don’t think they’re hosted in the US, so I doubt that they will be subject to the DMCA.
So, my next step was to advise one of their advertisers that they were violating the advertiser’s policy by advertising on a site made of stolen content:
Google Adsense complaint: “The content on this page has been completely copied from my site’s RSS feed and passed off as the site owner’s work for the purpose of gaining advertising revenue. Your Program Policy states “No Google ad may be placed on pages published specifically for the purpose of showing ads, whether or not the page content is relevant.”
The page is nearly all advertising and the content is not relavent to anything on the site. This “publisher” has done this with my content before and has not complied with my take down request. You will find that this “publisher’s entire site is comprised of stolen content from Blog RSS feeds by other authors. This webmaster is a fraud.”
I haven’t seen any results yet, after four days, so I supposed that Google is either taking its time, or doesn’t care. The next step is to notify the web host (and their registrar, if it seems to to any good).
So, 1mlmpro.com, if you’re still scraping, I hope that you scape and use this post. Its a good one!
I bet Rich would find the Google part entertaining. He’s been having issues with AdSence lately. :p
I’ve yet to see my content stolen. But then again, my digital fingerprint is a bit more defined. Maybe that’s why they aren’t stealing it? Or my crap is just not good enough to copy.
Oh my god! I can’t believe they didn’t even bother to take out the “no rip mrcorey feed”
Well, I had a similar problem awhile back, with one of my client’s sites. I got much further with the hosting company than I did with any of my other efforts. They were warned and when they didn’t comply, their site was deleted and account suspended. So definitely contact the host.
You can obtain some small satisfaction Corey from the fact their site looks like pure D shit in Firefox. LOL Ed from Moonbat Monitor had this same problem but the guy that was stealing from him was also stealing from oh hell I can’t remember now, but that reporter that had a blog about being in Iraq with the troops and I contacted HIS lawyer. LMAO That site was down lickity split. I’d write the owners a nice note and ask them if they’d do you the favor of supplying their attorney’s name- But that’s just me- I like to stir the pot. HERE’S an article you may find interesting….
They found me. I’m going to use the info Diane provided on that other persons site.
The Thief’s Stolen Content
Even my digital fingerprint is in it!
That’s how you catch them! They’re just using a bot to scrape your RSS feed and they slap it up on their site.
BTW, Diane, I’ve already read that page, and many others by Lorelle. She’s got some good ideas about Wordpress. If you look back to the original post I made, it referred to either that page or another that referred to it. I’ve already done the requesting, the take down demand, and the complaint to one advertiser. I’m going through the list. The problem is that many sites are in Israel and Egypt, as well as some African countries, and the interent policies or laws of these countries aren’t conducive to the kinds of internet decencies that many of the rest of us do.
Yea, but is you contact AdSence, they’ll remove their revenue because it’s in direct violation of their terms.
Done that. So, why are they still on the site? Did you read what I did?
Love the new look, Corey! I especially like the way it renders the quotes.
I have come across one site that stole stuff from mine, maybe I should look again. I want to stir the pot too! :w00t:
They took it down! YAY!
It appears that this may be true. There are still a lot of links in the search link on that box, but I can’t find the categories that we were in. Google is still advertizing on their site, though.
Just as the last time I exposed a spammer, their “friends” flock to the post like flies to honey. Now all or most of the spam posts on the site are coming to this post. Hilarious! Its almost like they’re saying,”I’m a spammer too! Help me!”