So, tonight, I checked my email account that I send “abuse” reports from, in case the spammers I’m trying to shut down are affiliated with the ISP I’m emailing (why not spam an account that I don’t care about, huh? hint - I have 200 gmail invites to burn, so I can invite myself). I see that there’s a “could not be sent” response to an email I sent to a spammer’s ISP. I also have noticed that I’ve not received any more spam from any domains with a folder /~tariq in them. Here’s what I got (some of my personal email stuff is going to be blocked out with the “$” sign):
Mail Delivery Subsystem to me
More options Jun 9This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification
Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:
abuse@netcathost.com
Technical details of permanent failure:
PERM_FAILURE: DNS Error: Domain name not found—– Original message —–
Received: by 10.70.37.13 with SMTP id k13mr3086879wxk;
Fri, 09 Jun 2006 15:06:52 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.70.58.12 with HTTP; Fri, 9 Jun 2006 15:06:51 -0700 (PDT)
Message-ID:
Date: Fri, 9 Jun 2006 19:06:51 -0300
From: “Corey Thompson” < $$$$.$$$$$@gmail.com>
To: abuse@netcathost.com
Subject: Fwd: 195.225.176.160
In-Reply-To:
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Disposition: inline
References:This IP is still spamming websites with comment spam. They are
violating your TOS———- Forwarded message ———-
From: Corey Thompson < $$$$.$$$$$@gmail.com>
Date: Apr 16, 2006 6:32 PM
Subject: 195.225.176.160
To: abuse@netcathost.com—– Message truncated —–
This was a response (way overdue, actually, thanks for trying, google) to this email:
Corey Thompson to abuse
More options Jun 9This IP is still spamming websites with comment spam. They are
violating your TOS
- Hide quoted text -———- Forwarded message ———-
From: Corey Thompson
Date: Apr 16, 2006 6:32 PM
Subject: 195.225.176.160
To: abuse@netcathost.comThe IP 195.225.176.160 has been spamming my weblog daily for about 2
weeks now. The sites that they are trying to spam with always have a
subfolder “~tariq_239files/”, so the abuser may have the name tariq.
The most recent incedent was recorded by my moderator within 2 hours
of 6:30 AST.
This has been a bit of a long haul. You may remember my post about this problem in May. This kind of thing is, unfortunately, too common. The work involved in addressing every spam in this way is too much. But, some times, you can be assured that something good can happen from a bit of work. If you try to go to the site “netcathost.com”, you’ll find its not available. The domain name has been swallowed up and is for sale again.
Another one bites the dust.
YAY! Die Spammer DIE!!!!
I have given up on fighting on shutting them down. To much work involved, I feel good about taking 2 of them down anyway. Still getting around 100+ spamm comments but they go to the spamm hole automatically now.
I even notice the chinese are getting into it now too. I’m getting Chinese text in the spamm.
I believe the best way to combat them would be to attack the makers of the bot programs that these
spammersA$$holes use.This would be a good thing to give a good FNFO to! HUH?
My FNFO will be a late entry if at all this week. I’m not sure which of the 26 hours a day I’m doing that I can squeeze it in at the moment.
Slacker! 8-}